Third Schawlow-Townes Symposium

October 30, 2014

The University of Ottawa established the Schawlow-Townes Symposium on Photonics in 2012, in honour of Charles H. Townes and the late Arthur L. Schawlow, who pioneered laser technology in the 1950s. The Nobel Prize-winning physicists pushed back the frontiers of photonics—the science of light—with their invention. Today, the laser is used in countless products and applications, from the computer hard drive to laser eye surgery. This annual symposium aims to bring to light the research and discoveries of photonics experts from Ottawa, from across Canada and from around the world. It is an important step toward realizing the University’s goal of building the largest photonics centre in Canada, which includes assembling a team of world-class researchers in the new Advanced Research Complex, a multi-million-dollar cutting-edge facility. The National Research Council’s Quantum Photonic Sensing and Security (QPSS) program, with headquarters in Ottawa, actively collaborates with the University of Ottawa, the University of Waterloo, government depart­ments and industry across Canada to translate photonic science excellence into high­impact applications. Areas of application focus include cyber­security, natural resources sensing and security sensing. Bridging the gap between theory, research and applied science, the Schawlow-Townes Symposium explores the science of light from all angles. It’s a gathering of the brightest minds in the field who, like the symposium’s namesakes, continually strive to push the boundaries of photonics Speakers included:
  • Marlan O. Scully, Distinguished University Professor at Texas A&M University, and also held positions at Princeton and Baylor universities
  • Ian Walmsley, Hooke Professor of Experimental Physics and Professorial Fellow of St Hugh’s College, University of Oxford
  • Thomas Jennewein, Associate Professor of the Institute for Quantum Computing at the University of Waterloo
  • Eli Yablonovitch, Director of the NSF Center for Energy Efficient Electronics Science (E3S), a multi­university centre based at Berkeley
  • Miles Padgett, Kelvin Chair of Natural Philosophy at the University  of Glasgow
  • Vahid Sandoghdar, Director at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light