Inaugural Schawlow-Townes Symposium
Inaugural Schawlow-Townes Symposium

November 9, 2012

Shaw Centre

The University of Ottawa established the Schawlow-Townes Symposium on Photonics in 2012, in honour of Charles H. Townes and the late Arthur L. Schawlow, who pioneered laser technology in the 1950s. The Nobel Prize-winning physicists pushed back the frontiers of photonics—the science of light—with their invention. Today, the laser is used in countless products and applications, from the computer hard drive to laser eye surgery. This annual symposium aims to bring to light the research and discoveries of photonics experts at the University of Ottawa, from across Canada and from around the world. It is an important step toward realizing the University’s goal of building the largest photonics centre in Canada, which includes assembling a team of world-class researchers and the construction of the Advanced Research Complex, a multi-million dollar cutting-edge facility. Bridging the gap between theory, research and applied science, the Schawlow-Townes Symposium explores the science of light from all angles. It’s a gathering of the brightest minds in the field who, like the symposium’s namesakes, continually strive to push the boundaries of photonics.
  • Speakers included
    • Charles H. Townes, Nobel laureate in physics for his groundbreaking work in quantum electronics.
    • Gerd Leuchs, Director, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Germany.
    • Erich Ippen, world-renowned expert in femtosecond optics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.